Munday Funday

30 Aug

Did you have a good weekend?  I sure did.  It started with a Happy Hour at Roast and ended with Salsa dancing at Sangria. And it was chock full of creativity in between.  And the best part? No Workouts.  That was pretty nice.  I spent something like 2 hours reading books and walking around Jo-Ann Fabrics. Did you just hear a toot-toot? That’s the sound of the dork train I happily rode around Detroit on Saturday.

So you don’t think I really did just spend my entire weekend being nerdy, a photo for you.  My brother-in-law is marrying a lovely gal next year, and I just can’t help myself, I’m always on the lookout for cute ideas.  I saw this post for a Paint Chip Bookmark on Greenbeans’ Crafterole and the wheels of my head started turning.  My brother in law is a painter! Wouldn’t a paint chip bookmark be the PERFECT Save the Date?  So, I went to Home Depot and picked up a few paint chips, and here’s what I came up with.

Aren’t they fantastic?  Now, this is still a work in progress. I would prefer to paper punch the border, but I spent money on my new Project Runway Design Ruler for another project, so I couldn’t buy a punch this weekend.

A few notes:

1. You must use an inkjet printer, the laser printers won’t print on the paint.

2. try to pick paint chips that don’t have long names because they will cut into your print layout.

3. The ink still doesn’t set on the inkjet, but this gives you a chance to use your handy embossing gun and clear powders.  You will need to emboss as soon as it comes out of the printer.

4. I punched two tiny holes in the top for the ribbon

Eh voila! an adorable (and cheap!) Save the Date. I imagine these being mailed in clear envelopes like these.

Wouldn’t you like to get something like that in the mail?

Thanks to Greenbean for letting me use her idea!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

