This is my confession

3 Sep

Confession time: Mr. S if you’re reading this, cover your eyes.  I sneak and eat chocolate in the bedroom when I think he’s not looking. Am I horrible? Is that horrible? Why do I feel like I have to hide my treats from him? Is HE really judging me, or am I judging myself through his eyes? I think he’s judging me… The bottom line is, if I feel like I can’t openly indulge, then maybe I shouldn’t be indulging at all.

My regime has been going fairly well – which reminds me, I am adopting some new vocabulary words because people seem offended when I tell them I’m on a diet. I am now “en regime” which is the French term for being on a diet. And when I refuse food I will simply say, “I’m watching my figure.” I’m not a large person, I’m mostly very hippy.  And people respond poorly to small-ish people who say they’re on a diet.

As I was saying, my regime has been going well, but the work-outs have not. I mentioned last week that I injured my ankle.  Well yesterday, while performing Back Kicks with Shoulder Press – which if you’re familiar with yoga poses is like the Tuladandasana pose in Bikram only with weights- I literally felt something pop across my mid back.  I sometimes feel a bit like Charlie Brown or Eyore when it comes to working out. In any event, I will take a few days off for my body to recover and get back on the grind.  I am incredibly amazed by how much stronger I do feel.

So, to sum up, I won’t eat my chocolate in the bedroom anymore. I will eat it in the living room.

“If you are not feeling well, if you have not slept, chocolate will revive you. But you have no chocolate! I think of that again and again! My dear, how will you ever manage?”

– Marquise de Sévigné

Bon apetit!

Leave a Reply

