Long Time Gone

9 Nov

Hello dear readers! Can you forgive me?  I am woefully behind in posting.  What can I say? I’m a busy girl 🙂 So, here is a mash up (can you use that term when not applied to music?) of what I’ve been doing since my last post.

Last month (ACK! Can you believe it’s already November?) I took a trip to the happiest place on earth – my alma mater Sweet Briar College. My friends and I went and had a blast! We ate in the Dining hall, we attempted to walk to the Monument at night (I say attempted because my friends are chickens), and we went to the JCrew Clearance Store which was a real experience. We found out that once a month they have these warehouse sales, where people stand in line for hours, but it is soooo worth it.  I got a cashmere hoodie for $18 that retails for $188 and one of us got a pair of beautiful grey leather boots for $30 that retail for (prepare yourself) $355.  And they do this every month. I swear if I still lived in DC I would drive down for it at least bi-monthly.

It was so fantastic to be there, but I wasn’t prepared for how it would affect me emotionally. I’ve been back to Sweet Briar since graduation, but so much of my life has changed since my last visit.  Here I was, standing in this place that is almost frozen in time for me. All the smells, and many of the sites were the same. But it was almost painful because I could feel what I felt while I was there as a student – hope, possibility. As Mrs. P put it, this was a place where anything was possible, and we had nothing but a bright future in front of us.  Well, we are now living in that future, and although many of us are actually working in our chosen careers, we wonder if we are really achieving the goals we set.  After dealing with those thoughts, I did actually walk away feeling renewed and with a new sense of possibility.

And because I believe a blog should have pictures,

here’s a collage of some pics I took that weekend.

Next up, I finished my hat! I knit this hat with me own two hands.  I borrowed the Secret Garden movie from my sister, and when I saw Mary’s hat I said, I have to have that. Sure, she’s a 9 yr old girl, I’m a grown woman. Your point? It’s super cute, and it’s warm. If you’re interested in the pattern, it’s here.

I’ve started a new diet. I don’t want to get into particulars, but it’s working. I had some people try to discourage me from another diet, but what can I say? I want thinner thighs. So far, my thighs are being really stubborn. I’ve got a week and a half left, so we’ll see how it shakes out.

I’ve got a million projects going all at the same time.

We’re almost done with our thank you cards! (However, I am so ashamed that it’s taken me so long to finish them. I’m not ungrateful -just forgetful).

I was reading one of the blogs I like, and the gal just writes one sentence or just posts a picture sometimes. I think I might start doing that. Every post doesn’t need to be thoughtful and deep 🙂

I think that’s it for the moment. If I have any thoughts, I’ll be sure to share them.

Leave a Reply

